Stropping recommendations?

Joined Apr 11, 2021
Hello,

I am just starting out on a more active sharpening, honing and stropping regimen for my kitchen knives. I have knives of average quality, mostly Sabatier and Victorinox with some cheaper high-carbon stainless knives for the kids.

I just invested in a Work Sharp Ken Onion sharpener with the Blade Grinding Attachment. This is after years of grinding away too much steel on an old Chef's Choice 130. I upgraded my stock honing steel to a new 14" Dexter-Russell Butcher Steel and I'm looking to add a fine honing steel and possibly a very fine ceramic honing rod to my lineup.

I'm intrigued by what I hear about stropping as a best-practice daily edge maintenance routine. I ordered a paddle strop from Amazon along with some compound but I was very unimpressed with it, especially the compound. I think the paddle is too short for longer culinary knives and the compound, especially the white one, seems really poor. It coats the leather and crumbles away rather than suffusing it.

What brands of stropping compound are recommended for sharpening ordinary kitchen knives? There doesn't seem to be any standard for particle size or even for colors. I read somewhere that the progression from coarse to fine is supposed to go "black, white, red, green," but this doesn't seem to be universally true.

Are Bark River bars respected as stropping compounds go? They seem to be widely mentioned on the internet sites where stropping is talked about.

Joined Dec 18, 2010
I strop razors for shaving. No need for kitchen knives. A ceramic hone or smooth steel is better for a quick touch up between sharpening. For a somewhat coarser steel, the f. dick multicut can’t be beat. Pricey but effective.

Joined Jul 13, 2012