Stocks vs. bases

Joined Oct 13, 2001
When I first started this biz we made our stocks from scratch.Now I see that the industry sells so much beef base, poultry base,lobster,clam, seafood,and even a vegetarian base. What is next?Perhaps a chefs base where a chef is not needed to bring real flavor to food?
Is the training we recieved as young cooks being thrown to the wind by the consumer and our sales reps? Labor, food costs as well as employee knowledge seem to be the drive behind this but is it better?
To roast the bones with mirepoix or pull the flavor out of shrimp and seafood shells cuttoffs included, gives the most wonderfull and true flavor in my opinion.Chicken stock is the best part of the chicken for me.
Stock is drawing the essence from the food and useing it with optimal preformance!Now all we need do is open a jar?
So what do you use? Peace , Doug..............

phatch

Staff member
Joined Mar 29, 2002
I'm a home cook. Yes, I prefer a real fresh made stock. But it's not realistic as an every time thing. I've tried a few of the different bases and routinely use the better varieties. But I'll use a real stock when I can. Finding non-salted ones is the key.

Phil

Joined Oct 23, 2003
i do keep base around to fortify something if needed but would prefer to dump them entirely. I see the use of base as simple laziness for the most part by cooks. It's easier to scoop chix base into your soup-don't have to season it that way. When confronted with a choice of stock or base most reach for the base, even after explaining and tasting why we use one over the other-why? no need to season. One of my pet peeves is pee yellow soups or rice from overuse of base-drives me nuts. And what the heck is ham base-throw a friggin hamhock in there. Doesn't matter what you do to it base still tastes like base.