Stick blenders

Joined Apr 30, 2001
My Braun stick blender, which I've had for 15 years, is on it's last legs and I'm looking around at my different options. I have obviously had good luck with Braun and am considering their newest version. I am open to other options, however, and was hoping that some of you may have used the Cuisinart or Williams-Sonoma version - or some other version that you like best.

So, what's your favorite stick blender?

By the way, I really insist on adjustable speeds. Other features are negotiable. :D

[ May 15, 2001: Message edited by: nancya ]

Joined Aug 4, 2000
Within the last 18 months I read an article in SAVEUR entitled "the Top 25" or "the TOP 50". The magazine rated the Williams Sonoma brand stick blender as the best.

I have no personal experience using one, however. ;)

isa

Joined Apr 4, 2000
I have a Braun too. I also have a food processor by Braun. The only thing I don't like about their products is that they get a yellowish tint very quickly.

Joined Aug 29, 2000
I have a Braun, too. But I have a question: does anyone know of a stick blender that has a metal basket around the blade, rather than a plastic one? I had a Cuisinart one before, and the plastic disintegrated when I blended some crushed ice. (I KNEW that would happen... unaccountably, I did it anyway. :rolleyes: ) Just the same, I'd prefer a metal basket to a plastic one, even if I don't repeat that stupid mistake.

Joined Apr 30, 2001
Wow! cchiu, you know your way around the web. Thanks for the sites.

Mezz, I have used my braun chopping ice and anything else for 15 years, and the plastic cage never broke. Williams-Sonoma's version has a metal cage, I think.

Joined May 18, 2001
I have a Cuisinart Quick Prep Hand Blender CSB-33 that I can not recommend. I have modified the blade so that it aerates liquids better (and faster), but I find it useless for pureeing small quanities of solid foods.

Joined May 11, 2001