steam table tips and tricks?

Discussion in 'Professional Catering' started by tralfaz, Sep 9, 2017.

1. tralfaz

tralfaz

Exp:
    20 yrs in tiny and large kitchens
    We've just started an counter top, open, self-serve steam table for breakfast and lunch (and looking to expand.) Any ideas about keeping food hot (above holding temp) but not dry food out? Besides monitoring, stirring and keeping some liquid in the bottom) we keep biscuits and sausage in a parchment tent. Any other ideas? I see in the steamer dumpling thread about not keeping things in contact with the bottom of the pan. Maybe a 2" pan set in a 4" pan for some insulation?

2. Fleece

Fleece

Exp:
    Beginning Cook

3. Fleece

Fleece

Exp:
    Beginning Cook
    I work in a hospital kitchen and the more experienced cooks layer parchment paper and then the heels from bread loaves in the bottom of 4" deep pans. They stack warm sandwiches, bisciuits & rolls this way in order to keep them from drying out. An article from Texas A&M Univ Food Science Department suggests turning the dials down on the individual wells based on the particular type of food. They also teccomend specific foods be held for different times; not just for food safety but for I.E. Mashed potatoes 2 hours however some foods can hold quality mouthfeel & flavors longer up to the 4 hours hold time.

4. Fleece

Fleece

Exp:
    Beginning Cook
    The article: The Artful science of Heating and Holding Food

5. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef