Chef Forum banner

Staying clean while working- getting discouraged

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Jenny Niedenfuehr 
#1 ·
I'm a current pastry cook and at one of my baking jobs (and at other places when I've staged), we use a 45 qt mixing bowl and I'm having issues with staying clean while getting batters and cookie doughs out of the bowl and using a large paddle. The dough literally sticks to the paddle especially our vegan cookie dough and I'm struggling with staying clean while getting the various doughs out while scraping it on my scraper. If it doesn't go onto the table then I cannot get through a whole day with getting some stuff on my apron. I make about eight large recipes a day along with other baking tasks such as shaping etc.

I just need any tips I can get. Especially when I go faster or get tired during the day I notice I start getting messier especially with liquids. I'm better with dries. If I go slower, we won't get anything done.

How do you sift powdered sugar without it going all over???

How do you scale a large amount of cake batter with a ladle into cake pans without having the batter fall onto the table or on the scale??

I've been in the industry for two years now and I shouldn't be making a mess anymore. I'm getting so discouraged and all people say is to stay cleaner but how can I stay cleaner when I'm not sure how to do things differently??

Thanks for your help.

See less See more
#3 · (Edited)
If you're not getting dirty, you're not doing it right. You're doing just fine. :)

Let me qualify that. You are working with batters and dough and flour and powdered sugar and water and eggs and milk etc etc. Its a messy business. There is a certain amount of mess that is expected in that particular line of work.