Starting your own cake business

Discussion in 'After Culinary School' started by Denisha's Cake Dessert, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Denisha's Cake Dessert

Denisha's Cake Dessert

Exp:
    k
    Hello,

I'm currently a culinary student that has had a small cake business for like 2 years , and been very blessed that this year my business has taken off this year. So I really want to start doing my business full time but have no idea where to start, I would love any advice from those who has their own company already .

Thank you so much

2. granola girl

granola girl

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    Congratulations on your success and deciding to take your cake biz to the next level. Now that you have decided to do that you need to operate like a serious biz so folks will take you seriously as a biz. I own a bakery. Here are some steps that I did.
    I have an LLC, Limited Liability Company, then I got a DBA, Doing Business As, (consider it like a nickname for your LLC.. (my Chase Business Banker helped me with this step). I recommend you open a business bank account. Tie a credit card to it and use it for all your biz purchases. Makes tax paperwork easier.
    Find and use SCORE, they are great, a wealth of info. You must get liability insurance. I recommend you look into FLIP. much cheaper than others. Score can also help you write your biz plan. And Score will hook you up with a mentor.

flipflopgirl likes this.
  3. jcakes

jcakes

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef