Stainless Steel Issue !!!!!

Joined Aug 10, 2013
I have trouble with my stainless-steel pans. I had to sear some tenderloin last night had about 2 lbs of medallions. Wound up doing it in 3 small batches. By the time I was done the sides of the pan were completely covered in black carbon! It was so bad I could not deglaze the pan like I hoped. So I finished it in another pan, It came out ok. But I felt it did lose some flavor like that. I used to be a line cook back in the day. I used to use aluminum sauté pans do not remember that happening. Any idea how I could conquer that?
I don't mind buying something else.

Joined Mar 1, 2017
It may not be the pan. From the limited description, it may be an issue with the size of the pan and the temperature level. The pan should be screaming hot with a bit of high smoke point fat in it and the tenderloin should be room temperature. This should produce a good sear.

Ideally, the steal pan should be made of a good, heavy gauge steel with a heat conductive core such as a copper or aluminum for best results. Cast iron would also be an excellent choice.

The heat source must also be taken into account. Electric burners heat differently than gas etc. From the fact that you had carbon around the edges suggests your heat source (probably gas?) may have been too high for too long. More information regarding the heat source and pan would be helpful. :)

When searing in batches, the pan should be cleared of any left over residue/juices etc that will burn when searing the next batch. Whenever possible, I try to save any bits and drippings and set them aside to make a pan sauce with cold chunks of butter/herbs etc after I'm done searing.

Cheers! :)

Joined Nov 27, 2012
Deglazing after every batch would be my advice after reading the original question.

But then there was the flour question.
So now I am blaming the flour.