Spices in Pre-Columbian Kitchen

Joined Jul 24, 2001
The thread about Nuevo Latino trend, brought up a very interesting subject that has to do with the History of Food.

The use of spices in Pre-Columbian kitchen.

Someone mentioned Mayas but they were not only Mayas but many other civilizations that contributed not only to sketch the "cultural landscape" of Pre-Columbian America, but influenced the kitchen of the States as well.

I have been studying this subject for two years now. And it turned out more complicated than I thought.

I think I could some help. I know some of the theory , you know the substance of cooking.So, I would very much appreciate if you add some informaton here.

I will mention some things but I will add information , since it's only a month I have started putting some ideas on the paper and I am not very confortable yet with expressing my thoughts.

So.

As Marmalady mentioned in Nuevo Latino thread, the Mayan ( and not only) kitchen wasn't too spicy. I agree.
According to Michelle-Berriedale-Johnson in her book, The British Museum Kitchen, spices were introduced to this area by the Spaniards who have found them diring their travels in the Far East.

Spaniards brought apart from the spices the domestic animals and the fruits.
So soon the rich kitchen of Atzecs that were characterised by the use of chilly , walnuts and chocolate truned into the famous Latin Kitchen we all know and enjoy.

I will be back with more things I found today in the Library.

Shall I post an ancient recipe of Azdecs? ;) It has chocolate in it!!!

:)

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Athenaeus, there is a lot ot ponder here I must say.

I have read that all but four books have perished in regards to the maya. and only recently has the hieroglyphics been able to be decoded.