Spaghetti & Meatballs

Joined Oct 4, 2001
Hello out there, As an avid home cook, I have been in search of a meatball recipe that would formulate the basis of my sauce. The sauce comes down from a old Italian family recipe that was remembered in grandmas head and not written. It seems to be lacking a certain flavor and I'm quite certain it is bacause I am using store bought meatballs, only because I have yet to find an authentic meatball recipe! Also, my sauce tends to lean to bland as I do not wish to kill it with Itialin seasonings or basil. Is there a certain herb or spice I should always include while making? I would appreciate any help!

Joined Jul 28, 2001
I must agree that there is not a perfect meatball or sauce recipe, also all chefs will argue that there is a minestrone recipe. These are all peasant dishes made with whatever is available but with a few constant ingredients. If your cooking your meatballs in the sauce raw, try blending pec and mild romano so it does not melt. Also try to incorporate some sort of cured or raw pork w/fat when sauteeing your vege's for your gravy.

Joined Oct 4, 2001
Excellant ideas all, Thank you very much. From the basis of my sauce, I meant frying them in olive oil, and including the drippings into the sauce. I see now that the ultimate meatball exists only in ones mind, and not on a card. Thanks again :)

Joined Jul 1, 2001
I agree that there is not a recipe for meatballs and sauce that is a "one-size-fits-all". However, the Cooks Illustrated recipe for meatballs is pretty incredible. I usually make a triple batch and freeze so I have meatballs that are delicious and moist anytime I need them. Also, I have developed a sauce that is based on Rao's sausage-tomato sauce recipe. It is the best sauce I've ever tasted.

Joined Mar 6, 2001