Chef Forum banner

Sous vide chicken

4K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  someday 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I've lurked on this forum here and there. As a self taught cook, you guys have really helped me ascend from the depths of grimy pizza kitchens into fine dining. So, first of all, thank you.

I was recently promoted to sous at my current job, and one of my first priorities is changing the least selling dish on our menu.

Currently we only use the sous vide for chicken and sausages. The sausages we move through fairly quickly, and they reheat quickly when cold so no big deal. But the chickens don't sell all the time. When I started they would sometimes sit in the water day after day... I've been trying to pull them like we do the sausages, but I'm not satisfied with the result when I reheat them.

So to all the chefs who sous vide chicken, what is your method? Ice and reheat? Fire a few before service and hope for the best? Fry the sucker? I've done my internet research as best as I can but I still feel like I'm missing something... This is the first time I've used this method professionally, and I really want to start my first month off by fixing the damn chicken!

#3 ·
OK, can we get some more detail about your technique and methods for the chicken. What cut are you using (I assume breast but you didn't say)? What temp are you initially cooking it at? What temp are you holding it at? Are you reheating from cold or just keeping cooked chicken in a sous vide bath all day long? And you say day after day...surely you don't mean you are keeping the SAME chicken breast in the bath day after day?? (I hope not)

I've got some ideas on how to help but I need to know what you do first...

#5 ·
That wasn't much help, lol. Ok, so they cook it to 130 in the circulator, then leave it in, and then pull when ordered and finish in the pan? Do they take the temp up to 165 after they pull it out of the circulator? If so, what is the point of sous vide I wonder...