soft juicy chicken

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by 9hundred, Mar 11, 2002.

1. 9hundred

9hundred

When pan-fring chicken breasts, they often turn out dry, tough, and chewy without much chicken flavor.

I want my pan-fried chicken to turn out soft and juicy.

2. kimmie

kimmie

Hi there. I'm not an expert but seems to me you probably cook'em for too long and at a too high temperature. Use medium-high heat and turn them often.

3. marmalady

marmalady

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Try using free-range chicken breasts - the Kosher breasts, and Bell & Evans are both good. Sear them on top of the stove, and finish in the oven. Or sear on top on medium high, turn heat down to med-low, cover, and finish cooking.

4. w.debord

w.debord

Just my experience cooking at home... I agree with the advice posted before me the only thing I wanted to add is I find that everything comes down to the quality of the chicken regardless. The larger ones at the grocery stores by my home are always horribly dry and tasteless and have nothing to do with my cooking technique.

I saute chicken most of the time on a med. high heat. Half way through I cover with foil and turn the flame down for around 5 min. (to cook the center) then go back finish on med-high. You have to becareful not to over cook it, I pull them before their done and let them sit for a couple minutes to come up.

5. marmalady

marmalady

Exp:
    Professional Caterer

6. chef brian

chef brian

A couple of ideas for when your cooking your chicken breast at home.

1. Season and maranade them BEFORE they hit the HOT saute pan. Season them with what ever you like such as fresh or dry herbs, seasonings or spices, pepper, what ever. Add a bit of oil to this quick maranade, this will help in several ways. First it will allow the flavors of your maranade to mix easily and flavor the chicken. It will aso help with the acutual physics of cooking the breast when it hits the HOT pan.