Smoking question

Joined Nov 3, 2017
I'm smoking three 9 lb. pork butts. I estimate it will take about 9-10 hrs. I'm using an electric smoker. It holds i cup of wood chips.

Should I add more chips halfway through cooking time?

Joined Dec 18, 2010
It depends a lot on how Smokey the pork gets and how Smokey you like it. I end toward a lighter smoke so don’t refresh wood, but I don’t use an electric smoker so can’t give you any definitive advise. But are you sure that’s enough time; what’s your smoker temp and the final pork temp?

Joined Feb 17, 2010
I have a masterbuilt smoker, I keep it smoking at least six hours. Have done hundreds of pounds of pork butts in it. Rotate your meat as needed. There will be hot and cold spots. Nine hours will be a starting point.
One cup of wood chips will do nothing for 27 lbs of meat.

Joined Nov 3, 2017
Thanks for all your kind advice. I just checked the chips and added more. The problem today is regulating the temp. I can't seem to get it up past 200F even turned to max, which I know is way too high, and smoke was pouring out. I think maybe the gauge on the door is malfunctioning.

pete

Staff member
Joined Oct 7, 2001
Where are you at? Most of these home, electric smokers don't have a whole lot of insulation so if it is cold, rainy and/or windy you will have a hard time getting it up, past 200°F. I have a small Bradley smoker that can be problematic in such conditions. I place it just inside my garage (overhead door open). That helps keep it out of the wind and rain, which can really sap the heat from it. These little home electric smokers just don't have a heavy enough heating element to keep things above 200°F in poor conditions.

Like Kuan said, you can always wrap in foil and finish in the oven after you have given it as much smoke as you want.

Joined Nov 3, 2017