Slowing down

Joined May 2, 2017
Hi all, I've been in this business for over 30 years now with the past 20 years at Head chef level, my experience, gained in many different kitchens has been varied and all encompassing but there is a gap! I have decided it's time for a change and have been offered a position in a small hotel, the kitchen serves a Tdh dinner menu, 3/3/3 changing daily on a 2 week run. At present everything is cooked prior to service and held in a Bain marie, there's no great reviews for the food. My background is in fresh, cooked to order menus and I want to raise the standard but, as always, there are things to consider, the hotel has 26 rooms and is 2 star rated, the clientele the hotel attracts are in their later years, sometimes arriving in a group on an organised tour, there is only 1 other chef, inexperienced and willing but already learnt bad habits and attitude, management/owners want to keep the Tdh menu. Does anyone have any menu advice? I can see the benefit of holding food in the Bain Marie but I dont use them as a rule, however the management do not want to offer an a la carte menu. I am taking this position mainly to slow down a bit, I'm 55 and to be honest I've had enough of high octane service! Has anyone any advice?
Thanks

Joined Sep 17, 2018
My advice is to not reinvent the wheel here. From your own information this is not a place that is the peak of the industry. Not saying it's a bad place, but I see no benefit to trying to change what has been working for them, especially if there is no demand from it from any other source but yourself. You said you went here for a change, so try the change and relax a bit.

Joined Aug 21, 2004