Should I upgrade my knives?

Joined May 3, 2020
Hello chefs! I've been a home cook (for my family) for 35 years and never really bought any exceptional knives. I am thinking of upgrading what I've been using for years, which is mainly:

Calphalon Contemporary 5 inch and 7 inch Santoku Knives, like this one:
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/st...ku-knife/1014723390?skuId=14723390&poc=111560

J.A. Henkles Eversharp Pro 5 inch and 7 inch micro-serrated Santoku knives like this one:
https://www.bedbathandbeyond.com/st...ku-knife/1040793399?skuId=40793399&poc=108031

Please don't cringe too much. I am embarrassed to admit that until today, I didn't realize that I wasn't using a western-style "chef's knife" to do the sort of cut where you are rocking the blade (tip-fulcrum method). I didn't even know what a Santoku knife was or that I had been using one! (These knives were decent and inexpensive. That's why I bought them years ago).

Now the kids are grown and moved out, my husband is learning to cook, and for the first time we're cooking together and upgrading some of our equipment (recently bought some good All Clad stainless pans, for example). I'm thinking about adding to my existing knives by getting a "proper" 8 inch chef's knife, a decent paring knife (I only have a really cheap one), and perhaps a "proper" 5 or 6 inch smaller chef's knife. Honestly, that's all I usually need on a regular basis.

Have I been able to cook well with the 4 inexpensive knives I mention above? Sure. Are they properly sharp? I'm sure you guys wouldn't think so. (I'm still learning, so be easy on me!) I have been researching knives online to be properly educated and buy the best thing for our needs. I think that high carbon no-rust stainless would be better for us than a more delicate or fussy carbon steel blade.