Shopping for xmas presents

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by theophany, Nov 27, 2017.

1. theophany

theophany

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hey!
    Tis the season to be recieving and giving.
    This time its recieving for me.

Im looking for a few knifes. I am a home cook, but i think i want to get a little more serious about it. I have 2 nice sharpening stones a chosera 800 and 3000. I also have a piece of bassalt wood and some stropping compound. I currently have a kai wasabi chef knife and a vic paring knife. I have very soft plastic cutting boards. Not a whole lot of room in the kitchen for a butchers block board, but in the future hopefully at a new house there will be! I am not an expert sharpener yet, i am more of a beginner. I can get the knives about a 5 maybe a 6 out of 10 on a sharpness scale. Until i can get better im fine with sending them off to be sharpened. I usually use the knifes for cutting veggies, boneless meat, and fruit.

Im looking for a nice set of steak knives probably 4.
    A chef knife
    A utility knife
    A pairing knife
    A bread knife

I guess i could be convinced to get something else, maybe a slicer..but not sure if i NEED that right now.
    All together i have around $600 to spend all together on everything.
    Im not aure if im ready for the amount of work it takes to care for a carbon knife, but i could be convinced.

Thanks for all the help!

2. benuser

benuser

Exp:
    Home Cook
    The Kai Wasabi are probably the worst blades to start with. Very abrasion resistant due to huge carbides who hinder in getting a fine edge.

Sharpening is about raising a burr, chasing it, and getting rid of it. Don't try with a Wasabi. It's by far the easiest and most obvious with a simple carbon steel.

Get at least ONE basic carbon steel blade instead to learn. No set. In Europe I would suggest a simple Robert Herder or a K-Sabatier. From Americans I understand that Old Hickory offers the same kind of simple carbons.