Chef Forum banner

Pancakes or waffles?

• Pancakes

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Waffles

Votes: 3 60.0%
  • Yes

Votes: 1 20.0%

Shopping for new knives and found some "vintage" Sabatiers, worth it?

5K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  galley swiller 
#1 ·
I'm moving (split up with the fiancé and he gets to keep the dishwasher knives) and found some "vintage" Sabatier knives on their site. I'm not a pro, and I'm just looking for a reliable knife capable of holding a decent edge. I want to learn to sharpen with stones. Does anyone have any experience with these? I was only able to find one similar thread here from 2012.

https://www.sabatier-shop.com/?fond=produit&id_produit=3773&id_rubrique=35

ANTIQUE SABATIER K KNIFE

CHEF 30 CM
AMERICAN BUTCHER 20 CM
UTILITY CHEF 16 CM
CHEF 15 CM
SLICER 19 CM

Stainless Steel
Wood Handle (Black and Natural
Manufacturing Period : 1950 - 1960
Plate Semelle - Stainless Steel
Manufacturing Year : 1950 - 1960

See less See more
#2 · (Edited)
Stainless sabs are not wonderful, and many old sabs have bad concavity worn into to the edge, partially because the full bolster was never properly dealt with in sharpening. Now looking at what you linked, those are likely new old stock, still nothing great, though all around better likely than their modern German equivalents. The 30cm you'd likely find too big for other than splitting watermelon and other big stuff. the 2 butcher knives are also a question mark for you. How much you want to spend?

#3 ·
Thanks, that's the sort of thing I'm looking to avoid. Well, not that I know exactly what all that means for a knife, but I got the idea.

I'd like to keep the price under $100 for a chef, something smaller like a utility, and something serrated, preferably a bread knife. Those are the 3 that I use must often. I'm keeping my steel; X will never use it. The second two I'm not expecting to take up too much of the budget, and I don't care if they don't match.