Shoes... what do you wear in the kitchen?

Joined Nov 5, 2003
I've been wearing a pair of, Grabber's from Knapp for the the past two years. And now it is time to replace them, the soles are still in great shape, but the uppers are pretty banged up.
What would you recommend for a replacement pair? My only requirement is that they are lace up shoes. I have my reservations about wearing a pair of clogs/slip-on shoes in the kitchen.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Joined Mar 5, 2004
and how much were they?

Dont u think there clothes are just as $$$ as shoes?

Sorry not a fan of chef ware, nothing but bad from them

dalix24 :chef:

Joined Nov 5, 2003
Well after doing some reading, and some comparison shopping I decided to get a pair from Shoes For Crews. My total cost was $49.48 delivered via FedEx. I ordered on March 20th and my shoes arrived today (March 25th).
What made me decide on SFC was price and available styles. Now only time will tell. :smiles:

Joined Feb 22, 2002
I have Grabbers also, school issued, and I've been wearing them for about two years also. :) They're okay, but not totally "slip resistant"--maybe it doesn't count if you slip *outdoors*, lol. Still, I find them pretty comfy.

Joined Mar 21, 2004
My Chefware shoes were $85 plus shipping. They generally last me about 3-4 years. I've also had a lot of luck with their coats and pants. Although expensive, they hold their colors and wear very well. Most pairs last at least 3 years. I bought some of my cooks Shoes for Crews and they lasted less than 6 months.

Joined Mar 3, 2002
I wear Dansko clogs from Culinary Classics of Chicago, they're cheaper than chef wear and last alot longer!!!
BK :bounce:

Joined Mar 31, 2004
I'm not a chef, but a biochemist who spends a lot time in the lab and on my feet, and I live in Dansko clogs. No back aches, no tired feet, no safety issues.

Joined Apr 13, 2004