Sharpening Steels

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by ljv, Feb 12, 2002.

1. ljv

ljv

Hello:

I am a beginner, so bear with me if this is elementary for eveyone else! I am very excited about my new Henckels Twin Select knives. I purchased the 8" chefs knife and the 4" paring knife. My dilemma is which sharpening steel to use. I have an old Wusthof Classic sharpening steel. Henckels recommends using the sharpening steel that matches the Twin Select. However, none of the on-line stores or my local stores carry it. The only way I can find it is to purchase the entire set of knives. I have read some good advice regarding not buying sets anyway, rather choosing each knife individually. So, those of you who have several brands, do you use a different steel for each brand? Should I use any Henckels steel? Are they the same, just with different handles to match the set? I could try to special order the Twin Select sharpening steel - do you feel that would be the best way to go? If I use the Wustof sharpening steel will I damage the knives? Henckels says theirs is made specifically for their blades.

I am sad to say that I did not have the knowledge to take care of my first set of knives that I received as a wedding gift 8 years ago. I still have the Wustof Classic set, and never knew how to use the steel and never bothered to learn. Needless to say, the knives are no longer sharp, and even after taking them to a local sharpener, they are not in good condition. Now that I have purchased the Henckels, I desperately want to treat them properly so they last and so they are always sharp.

Thank you for your help.

LJ

2. kylew

kylew

Exp:
    Home Chef
    NO! GET OUT!