Chef Forum banner

Setting a menu

829 views 4 replies 2 participants last post by  purityn 
#1 ·
Hi there,

My first assignment and already kinda stuck. I need to set a menu for a small coffee shop and I'm not sure where to start. Are there any preferred places I can get ideas and information?

Any help will be appreciated

#2 ·
I mean... have you been to a coffee shop recently? ;)

I can't provide you any scholastic or formal stuff... but I can tell you that I currently work as a (sole) cook in a coffee shop, so I have some credibility on this issue.

What kind of coffee shop is it? Something fancy, or something more low-key?

Either way, sandwiches and "snack food" are your bread and butter. Honestly, if it's an upscale coffee shop, I would look to a tapas-styled menu.

Be more specific and I'll try to help you brainstorm! :)

#3 ·
Hi Sansei,

It's upmarket cafe with traditional African dishes but I'd like to stay away from your light dinners on the menu.

As you say I'm looking at your pastries, sandwiches and lunches. I was just wondering if there was a method especially with the layout and setting prices.

For now I'm just incorporating ideas that I love from different places.

#4 ·
Hmm... now we're getting into realms where I'm not very educated, so take my advice with a grain of salt. Heck, I may be telling you 100% what you already know.

In regards to pricing, I've heard that you need to price it so that you make about 30% profit off your raw ingredients. In other words, you're going to have to do a fair amount of math and measurements to calculate how much each item on the menu requires, and then convert that into a competent pricing scheme.

As far as menu layout... I doubt I need to yammer on about much since you're probably a culinary student. I'd categorize the dishes and arrange them by both narrative and by what the guest is likely to order. Narrative meaning appetizers first, fried stuff, cold stuff, etc.