selecting tomatillos

Joined Jul 3, 2002
How do you select tomatillos in a market? I just made a tomatillo and spinach green sauce (for enchiladas) and it's a little tangier (tangy-er?) :eek: than I would like which I assume indicates some less than idealy ripened tomatillos. Should I add a little sugar?
Also, I am growing my own (they're barely an inch tall right now), but I have no idea how you tell when a tomatillo on the vine is ripe enough. Help? :confused:

Joined Oct 9, 2002
I'm no tomatillo expert, but when the tomatillo is hard and the papery skin is tightly attached, I stay away. I go for a slight give when I squeeze and a skin that is nice and dried and already peeling away.

Darn things make a wonderful salsa!

Joined Dec 30, 1999
Tomatillos should be firm when you select them in the market.

If the husk is pulled away from the skin, or they are wrinkled or soft, they are not fresh.

Tomatillos are supposed to be sour/tangy. Did you follow a recipe?

They are typically simmered in boiling water for 10 minutes before use in salsas, dips, etc.

When the husks start dry out, your tomatillos are ready to picked. They naturally fall to the ground when ripe.

They'll last for weeks if stored in a cool, dry place.

Click here for more on tomatillos.

For information on growing tomatillos in your area, contact your county extension office, the information is usally free and they should have a free hotline in case you have any more questions on growing and harvesting vegetables.

L. A. County U.C. Cooperative Extension office can be accessed at http://celosangeles.ucdavis.edu

Here is a pdf provided by your extension office specifically on Tomatillo Production in California. You'll need to download the Acrobat PDF reader (free) if you do not already have it.

Joined Jul 3, 2002
Thank you both for the responses. And the links are very helpful.