Seaweed help: what to do with?

Joined May 26, 2001
I picked up a couple of packages of seaweed recently at a food show. The labels are all in Japanese. I've been able to figure out that one is sea lettuce (I think) and the other matsugae (definitely).

What can I do with them? :confused:

phatch

Staff member
Joined Mar 29, 2002
I'm no seaweed pro and I don't know what kinds to do what with. But here's some things I've read and seen.

Soup, such as miso has seaweed.

Chiffonade over rice or salad. Maybe a decomposed sushi? or as a garnish on a seafood dish. Go light, it's strong.

Also as a green in salads.

I don't remember if kombu is a thin sheet or more bulky, but some Googling on kombu could be productive too.

Joined Mar 8, 2007
About the only thing I use seaweed for is dashi (or rolling sushi). Kombu does come in thin dried sheets. You use it along with the dried bonito flakes (always good to have around and a ton of uses if you like asian food, heck, the japanese keep it at the table and use it as a condiment on just about everything) to make the dashi.

Dashi is then used as a base for a million things, or alone as a soup.

Joined Nov 23, 2006
Just eat it the way it is!

I'm assuming that it is dry and possibly seasoned. Seaweed has natural flavor enhancers, similar to to MSG (but not anywhere near as bad-for-you) that make it tastier than it should be.

You could add it to Miso soup as previously suggested.

You might cut it up finely and add it to canned tuna. Nothing like canned tuna and Furikake.

Joined May 26, 2001