Scheduling Kitchen Staff and Menu Planning

Joined Mar 3, 2017
I am currently working my first Director of Dining Services / Executive Chef position. I have no problem staying within budget. My main concern is scheduling my staff.

This is a Retirement Community with around 100 residents and 4 dining rooms.

I have a budget of 350 hours per week.

Any ideas would help since this is a 7 day operation 3 meals a day.

The second question is the menu is a 5 week cycle.

I am looking to change it to a 31 day menu and implement many changes to get rid of redundant menu choices etc.

Any resources for sample menu's or ideas on food that a retirement home would love but would keep food cost down.

Any advice would help since this is my first time in this role. I been in the industry for 15 years and 6 of them as a Sous, but no formal culinary arts training.

Thank you!

Joined Oct 31, 2012
I'll need a bit more info for scheduling ideas. Does one kitchen serve all four dining rooms? Are the dining rooms for different meals or functions?
Obviously at minimum you will need a breakfast, lunch cook and a dinner cook, a second to help out and cover days off. Probably a dishwasher/prep person.
The menu seems easy enough. . I expect mostly comfort food would go over well. Meatloaf, roast chicken, pasta of all kinds, chicken and biscuits, anything with mashed potatoes, beef stew, roast turkey, pork loin, maybe a pizza or taco night. As an older crowd, they have different memories of comfort food so research what was popular back when they were growing up. I presume the forties and fifties.
Once in a while You could throw in.a bit of fun with meals at dinner of pancakes and gravy or breakfast cereals with fresh fruit,, a salad bar buffet with tuna, chicken, shrimp salads or make your own sandwiches with an extra meat like pastrami, cappicola or salami added in. Crepes and blinis with savory filling.