Scallion Pancakes

phatch

Staff member
Joined Mar 29, 2002
I've talked about these off and on over the years. Most regions of China have their own variation on the idea.

Chinese Cooking Demystified makes theirs in a thick fried sort of cake style which is not what I see most often.

The Woks of Life make it thinner than the Demystified folks but thicker than I usually encounter.
https://thewoksoflife.com/shanghai-scallion-flatbread-qiang-bing/ Theirs is also Shanghai style as is Demystified's.

Souped Up Recipes gave me my personal breakthrough in a thin style pancake from scratch with good results.

The hot oil seasoned roux-- Yo Su-- is a critical step. I like to thin the finished paste a bit with sesame oil. Another thing I like is that this dough mixes in a snap in the food processor, which is not her technique, but one I use where I can.

So that is what I've been doing for a few years now after my public experimentation 3 years ago in the 2018 Feb Challenge, Chinese topic. https://cheftalk.com/threads/the-february-2018-challenge-is-chinese.96939/post-576269

Since then, I've added another Youtube cooking channel, Xiaoying Cuisine. It seems pretty clear that she doesn't speak english and uses an automated translation service, probably Google Translate. So the titles are usually off the wall and the subtitles can be equally strange. But you can follow it and she does things I've never seen before or with entirely different approaches.

Her scallion pancake deviates by kneading the scallions directly into the dough from the start. And her rolling method is different. She divides the dough into mini loaves, and then rolls those the long way. Her Yo Su includes salted eggs which is an interesting touch, but she just folds the dough across in thirds and then rolls it up with a rest before the final roll. This is less handling and rolling than I often see and she achieved quite good layering.