Sauces

Joined Oct 18, 2001
I’m studying sauces (on my own) for posting on my web site. I find Curry Sauce is listed as a variation both from Béchamel and Velouté. Is this right or wrong? Does it actually qualify as being potentially derived from either one? If not, what’s the difference? Is “Escoffier's Le Guide Culinaire” a good book to study about sauces and other cooking knowledge?

Thanks in advance…
Jack...

Joined May 26, 2001
How technically detailed do you want to be, and how "authentic?"

Both Béchamel and Velouté are white sauces. The main difference between them is that Béchamel is made with milk, and Velouté is made with white stock. Either could be flavored with curry powder to make a "curry sauce." But it really wouldn't be the least bit authentic in regards to real South Asian cooking. Which brings us to ... Escoffier is great for learning about classic French cooking. The basic principles and techniques will always, always apply. However, a lot of the food is dated and would not be acceptable in our time of lightness and strong interest in "ethnic" cuisines. While the mother sauces are eternal, not all their derivatives are, thank goodness. So yes, read and study Escoffier, but look elsewhere for contemporary food.

EDIT: Just took a look at your website. NEAT!!!!! Sure looks authentic as far as LA food goes.

Joined Oct 18, 2001