San Francisco

pete

Staff member
Joined Oct 7, 2001
Just got word today that I am heading to San Francisco in 1 1/2 weeks. Can't wait!! The only downfall is that I will only be able to really treat myself to one :( great meal while I am there. I know that there are a bunch of great places out there, so my question to everyone is: if you were in my shoes, where is the one place you would dine? One other problem, no car so I must be able to get there by cab (that means no French Laundry :( :( :( :( ). I am staying at a very centrally located hotel though.

Joined Jul 31, 2000
Gary danko,

Outstanding!!!
Right in giradelli square,

Up in saint helena "terra" is excellent
Also Todd Humpries from the greystone at the CIA next to Beringers Vineyards.
I studied with humpries a couple years ago while I was in napa Valley. He is a great Chef. he was Sous at "Lespannise" In manhatten under Gray Kuns, and then he took over Campton place when Bradly Ogdon left to open lark creek.
Any way if you are staying close to the City..Please try Danko's. you won't be dissapointed
cc

Joined May 26, 2001
I love Zuni. Judy Rodgers was nominated for a Beard, and maybe even won. It's on Market Street, I think, not far from the cable car turnaround.

Also: not really expensive, and considered a classic SF experience: Tadich Grill, in the Financial District, I think. It's been around forever. Simple, perfect fish. Just perfect fish. Oh, the sand dabs!!!!!

Not to complicate things for you, but you might check the San Francisco board at Chowhound. Talk about passionate eaters! Or look at some of the places mentioned at On The Rail in the "Comings and Goings" part of "In the Weeds."

pete

Staff member
Joined Oct 7, 2001