Salary Position

Joined Mar 25, 2002
I have been working at a country club for a little over three years. Pretty small place with only 2 full-time and 2 part-time cooks besides the sous and the exec. I am one of the full timers. I really "began" my cooking carrer at the country club and now, at 26, am a little over half way done with my schooling. The other full timer is leaving us and was paid salary. I have asked to be moved to salary and the exec has agreed but he hasn't figured out any numbers yet (early next week he says). This is the first time I have taken a salary position and am looking for advice on what sort of number I should be looking for. Do I just figure what I made last year and add a little more? What is normal for benefits?
The club will be very busy (55-60 at most/week) over the summer months with golf going on but then will slow down for the winter months. In the past winters I have always had to worry about a second source of income and this would take care of that problem.
Feel like I am in over my head here with a new concept and would love some advice when I go into the meeting and look at the offer.

:chef:

---------------

Greatest lesson a chef can learn is how to play hurt.

Joined Mar 6, 2001
Just one point:

I'm not totally certain if this is law everywhere but, I've always recieved extra compensation for OT hours even on salary. I was told they had to legally. BUT the catch is they only have to pay you minimum wage, nothing near your current wage.

So somethings depend upon how many hours OT will they actually want from you. Your place sounds honest and you've been there long enough to know the true hours. Some places do manage to use their salaried people to death.

One place I worked at the guys that weren't salaried made double time when OT. So (if I did the math right) they were making enough money thru the busy season to equal what I made year round. But they didn't have to stick around thru the boring slow days.