S-car GO

Joined Jul 31, 2017
Hi All

Thank you if you take the time to read this.
I am wondering now, what is the taste and texture of escargot ? This why I ask. I have been eating snails since I was a child and through out my career. I am not a fine dining chef, I'm a line cook. My knowledge and experience is limited.
I arrived back in work to find the snail we had were very mushy. I am used to kinda chewy texture. Never mashed. It's weird for me. I just looking for advice

Any advice and info is appreciated

Joined Mar 1, 2017
Not to sound like a wiseguy, but, if you've been eating escargot all your life, you should be a pretty good judge on what is good and what isn't.

Escargot should not be "mushy" or "rubbery." They should be firm, but, not chewy with a consistency somewhere between oysters, scallops and Portabella mushrooms.

Their taste should be "earthy" like a mushroom and can vary slightly depending on where they were sourced.

I hope this answers your questions. :)

Cheers!

Joined Jul 31, 2017
Not to sound like a wiseguy, but, if you've been eating escargot all your life, you should be a pretty good judge on what is good and what isn't.

Escargot should not be "mushy" or "rubbery." They should be firm, but, not chewy with a consistency somewhere between oysters, scallops and Portabella mushrooms.

Their taste should be "earthy" like a mushroom and can vary slightly depending on where they were sourced.

Cheers!
But you you did, you sounded like a wise buy with undertones of prick. Not being a wise guy, just being truthful.
So thank you for your answer.
Snail have never tasted like anything to me that you described. I find them bland almost. With the flavour of what they have been cooked in.
I ask because after my two days off the snails we had could me mushed between my fingers. I was adamant that they would hold their shape.
So i threw them away. The other chefs looked at me as if i was mad (GDP) but i wasnt comfortable serving them.