Rubbing flour and butter together?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by chrisbristol, Mar 1, 2018.

1. chrisbristol

chrisbristol

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Hello
    Just wondered if someone could answer me a question about rubbing flour and butter together. If someone understands the science behind it that would be great. I want to be very clear that I know what the head chef says goes just want to ask some questions to find out about the subject.
    I have a little bit of pastry experience but not much and quite a bit is self taught but I have some moderate experience.
    So I was making some scones at work today. We use bread flour to make them. Before when I made them I was told to use a kitchen aid to rub the flour into the butter then mix the buttermilk in by hand. We had to make four batches and we can only fit one in the kitchen aid so we have to do it four times then the buttermilk can be added to the one big lot all together. But the head chef told me to rub the flour and butter by hand as he thought it would be quicker because I could do them all at once. The big mixer is broken so we can't use that. Now he told me to soften the butter in microwave. I thought that was a big no no but he told me so I did it. But I only softened it a bit because I didn't want it to get hot. Now when I was rubbing it into the flour it was taking a while because it was a bit hard. Not that hard but hard enough to make it difficult to rub. A girl who had worked as a pastry chef at quite a high level suggested doing it in the robo coup( Don't know if you call it that in the states in an industrial food processor) The head chef said no because it would over work it.
    So he suggested putting it through a strainer and putting the butter which would have flour on it in the microwave to soften it.