Rouxbe online courses

Discussion in 'Choosing A Culinary School' started by ivanthetrble, Oct 26, 2017.

1. ivanthetrble

ivanthetrble

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    HI all,

I am wondering if anyone has any experience with the Rouxbe online courses. I am a home cook with a full time career away from food but I would like to continue learning and their professional cook program seems to be pretty well organized into a 6 month program. It does seem a bit odd to consider online classes but for me going to a formal culinary program just isn't going to be in the cards. I feel that I have progressed well beyond the normal Sur la Table type classes and am looking for something with more structure and challenge. Any thoughts on this program would be appreciated. Thanks!

ITT

2. TheSaladGuy

TheSaladGuy

Exp:
    Pantry Cook
    It's honestly not worth it. If you're going to go to culinary school, go to culinary school. Otherwise YouTube certain things, a great book id and a lot of people would recommend is "The Professional Chef" study that on your own time. Also The Flavor Bible is well.. my bible when it comes to experimenting lol. But online just isn't worth it school wise

3. TheSaladGuy

TheSaladGuy

Exp:
    Pantry Cook
    And I know YouTube sounds ratchet but, there's a lot of chefs on there that routinely post quickie tutorial

4. flambae

flambae

Exp:
    professional chef