Room for one more?

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by hungrystudent, Jan 1, 2010.

1. hungrystudent

hungrystudent

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Hey everyone, I've been reading these forums off and on for a little while, and I finally decided to join up. I'm a grad student in English literature, used to be a professional trumpet player, and now my day job is fixing bikes. I love eating, but I love cooking even more. I'm pretty good at one and just beginning the other, and I'm sure that this site will help me get even better at both. I guess that's all for now - Happy New Year, everybody!

RJM

2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Sure, there's room for you and everyone else who enjoys discussing and exploring food!

Ah, an English major! I was one myself in my salad days. :rolleyes: (That was in 1970, when you could find 300 people looking for the same job teaching English, and that's not hyperbole. So I switched to special education for physically handicapped and got a job before I could send out the second resume.)

You hit the nail on the head! I'm sure we'll see you here often.

With what dishes or ingredients are you comfortable now? Are there recipes you'd like to try or to master? You're encouraged to browse the entire site. However, home cooks like you and I should consider the professionals' forums as 'read only'.

Enjoy it all. Welcome!
    Mezzaluna

3. hungrystudent

hungrystudent

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Thanks for the welcome!

It's similarly rough for people looking for University positions...but my current career prospects are still better than as a classical trumpet player, where as many as 800 people might apply for a single seat (just to get an audition is considered a victory).