Roaster with lid

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by vita-man, Oct 20, 2004.

1. vita-man

vita-man

Hey all:I'm new to this forum but needed some advice so hopefully you can help me.

I'm looking for a heavy duty anodized roaser with a lid. Don't laugh. I'm just a novice. I guess I have read that to properly "roast" something you need the air to circulate around it so the outside gets crispy, but I want to roast a large turkey and we always take the skin off so I don't really care about having crisp skin. I guess one with a lid just seems easier and maybe juicier.

I have a whole bunch of Magnalite professional pans, but I think they are out of business. I wanted to buy a Magnalite Professional Roaster but I'm not having any luck finding one.

Got any suggestions where I could find one? Any reasons why I definitely should not buy one?

Thanks for your help.

Jeff

2. jock

jock

Exp:
    At home cook
    I don't think I have seen a roaster with a lid! Actually that's not strictly true. I believe that you can buy a super thin, cheap, enameled steel, oval shaped roaster at the grocery store housewares isle or at hardware stores.

Since it is such a specialized use I wouldn't spend the money. Tenting the roaster with heavy duty aluminum foil will hold in enough steam to do the job I would think.

Jock

3. vita-man

vita-man

Well, it's not anodized, but I bought a Le Cruesett 15 quart roaster. It is awesome. Probably not worth the money, but cooked an awesome turkey for Thanksgiving.

Jeff

4. joepiebaker

joepiebaker

Wouldn't a roaster with a lid technically be a dutch oven?

5. vita-man

vita-man

Don't exactly know the difference between a dutch oven and a roaster, so I can't say. Whatever it is, it made a great turkey.

Jeff

6. keeperofthegood

keeperofthegood

Hey oh

If its got a lid, and the lid is used on, then its not a roaster.