Research Resources: Famous Chefs (Vintage)

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by shawtycat, Sep 11, 2002.

1. shawtycat

shawtycat

I had orignally thought to post brief bios on Famous Chefs after conducting research etc. etc. etc. I then realized that I have little to no knowledge of copyright laws of websites, and also that my interpretation of such information would not be the same as someone else's, so will provide those seeking with the resources from which this information can be found. :)

Jodi

2. shawtycat

shawtycat

Timeline

Born Alexis Benoit Soyer in October 1809, the youngest son to a shopkeeper, at Meaux-en-Brie on the Marne in France.

1821 - 1826
    Apprentice to cook at Grignon, hired at Boulevard des Italiens became head cook 3 years after hire.

June 1830
    Second cook to Prince Polignac (French Foreign Office) till July when revoultion begins.

Hired at London Kitchen of Duke of Cambridge. Other employers during this time include Marquis of Waterford, Marquis of Ailsa @ Isleworth, Duke of Sutherland, William Lloyd of Ashton Hall

Chef to The Reform Club in London

June 28th 1838
    Prepares breakfast for 2,000 at Queen Victoria's coronation

April 1847
    Commissioned to open kitchens in Dublin Ireland by government to help Irish famine victims. Published Soyer's Charitable Cookery while there and donated parts of the proceeds to charity.

Promoted his invention, a stove where food could be cooked at the table.

May 1850
    Resigns as Chef from the Reform Club

May 1851
    Opens his Kensington restaurant Gore House

February 2nd 1855
    Goes to Crimea to cook for the army. Makes changes to the army's hospital diet sheets and cooks for the Fourth Division.

May 3rd 1857 - March 18th 1858
    Returns to london and lectures at the United Service Institution on cooking for the armed forces.

August 5th 1858
    Passes away at St. John's Wood in London