research project,need answers

Joined Nov 21, 2001
long hours, little pay, no time for a life, no health benefits or vacation pay...
on the other hand instant gratification in knowing that you have made some one happy with a good meal.

kuan

Staff member
Joined Jun 11, 2001
Why do we have to take this for granted? I mean, no other industry expects their staff to work 70hrs/wk, stand all day, run around on slippery floors, take their "vacation" during downtime, etc.

Is it some kind of machismo kinda thing to say "I'm a chef, I work 70hrs a week?" That's crazy IMO. We shouldn't have to. As long as we think we do this kind of abuse will keep going on.

Kuan

Joined Oct 23, 2003
My wife's been asking me the same question for years ;). It's not the money(although i've made some good $$ at times), the hours or the benefits for sure.
It's a primal, gut, thing that drives most of us-as opposed to that cook thats just there to collect a paycheck. The benefits are mostly intangible; knowing you brunoised that bell pepper perfectly, sauteed that correctly, grilled to proper temp, etc...and plated out the best dish you can. The smile and the thanks from a guest is the greatest benefit of all.
hth, danny

Joined Nov 20, 2000
I wasn't going to respond at first because Kat, Kuan and Dano made excellent points that almost say it all. But, as I was flipping back to the forum a thought flashed across my mind and in an instant I relived every moment I ever had in a kitchen and the thought that flashed was this: It may well be that simple. :chef:

Joined Apr 13, 2004
An instructor I had in cooking school said you have to be a bit of a weirdo to go into cooking. You work when everyone else is off, It's high pressure, not especially lucrative and really hard work. You have to really love cooking and need to do it or you're not going to be happy.

Joined Apr 24, 2004
We moan, we think that we are being taken for granted, we hate the hours.
But the truth of the matter is we love our job!