Chef Forum banner

reducing wastage in the kitchen by 50%

1K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  foodpump 
#1 ·
hi guys, new to this forum so hopefully iv posted this to the correct area. I have been working for the past 3 years in a sizzler pub kitchen, which maily involves frozen foods and small amount of fresh produce. I have decided to go for kitchen manager position, i am fully aware of what this entails and beleive i am more than capable on the the practical front but would appreciate any ideas or info on how i will be able to reduce the kitchen wastage by 50% either and or energy saving, food wise , tools and staff, menu etc. i have a few ideas but know there must be more experianced ppl out there that i could benifit from there knowledge.

also i will need to improve empathica food quality scores by retraining the kitchen staff and setting goals.. anyone with experiance of this and would like to share there ideas would be great!!! thanx in advance

#3 ·
Energy saving?...........

You'll have to spend inorder to get that.  F'rinstance, refrigeration.  A 6' x'6' walk-in is much more efficient than two two door stand-ups and a low-boy, but it will cost. A new hot water heater is much more efficient, but will cost.

Start with baby-steps. If you could magically reduce operting costs by 50% in the first two months, the owner would be very suspicious, and then would become greedy.

Reactions: welshie
#4 ·
Thanx guys, but i am not manager as yet what i should have stated was that iv been offered the postion and as part of course work i have to come up with the things iv stated in my question. Iv been givin 6 months worth of course work today to be completed in the next week (totally dropped on me) so frantically trying to find advice and some input. cheers

#5 ·
You are asking how to almost instantaneously cut 50% of your kitchen costs? That sounds rather improbable unless the situation where you are is crazy bad.