Chef Forum banner

Recommendations for My First Cooking Class

1K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  kyheirloomer 
#1 ·
Hello all...I am a home cook but have quite a following in the local community as the "chef".  Though I don't take that title, due to the training and experience required to attain it, folks here call me that. 

The question is this, I have had numerous people asking me to do a cooking class for them in their/a home and I was wonder if anyone can recommend some initial techniques or recipes to do as a component to this "class".

I was thinking that the first one would be about:

1.  Knife skills/cutting

2.  Use of seasonings

3.  A menu:

Braised steak

Stir Fried Veggies

Double stuffed potatoes

Desert (Chocolate Cream Rum infused)

I believe that this is basic enough to teach and at the same time show proper technique....would love some thoughts from those of you that have done this before or have taught others.

Buellride

See less See more
#2 ·
I think a simple menu like that is great for a first lesson.  However I'd start off with a properly pan seared steak and leave "braising" for another lesson more fitting of a later season, as it also requires more skill.  You'll be able to teach a nice pan reduction as well.

Sauteed vegetables is a great idea, especially because it will incorporate proper knife skills.

Do double stuffed potatoes also go by the name twice baked potatoes?  If so then I like the idea as well.

#3 ·
Why not start like cooking schools do. Basics like prep of stock, sauce, termonology ie. braising,poaching ,pouling,sauteing, etc. Protein cooking in schools are down the line a bit.

#4 ·
When I sat down to design my In Your Kitchen Cooking School I thought long and hard about how it should be organized. My conclusion was that anything meaningful for folks with little background in cookery had to be techniques oriented. So that's how I set it up.