Recent LCB Grad Needs a Job!

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by chezsylvia, Jun 2, 2005.

1. chezsylvia

chezsylvia

How does one get a job in a restaurant without any previous kitchen experience? I am a recent grad from LCB Cuisine Program. I am mature, responsible, team member, conscientious and a pretty good cook. I am as comfortable in cuisine as I am in patisserie. I have applied for many jobs but no responses. I am not interested in fast food. I want to learn from an executive chef in a reputable restaurant. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you for reading my question

Chezsylvia

2. kraftchef

kraftchef

Where do you live???

3. logghib

logghib

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    If someone has no kitchen experience and they want a BOH position, I am only willing to let them wash dishes and work up. No matter where they went to school.

Didn't your school offer some kind of internship placement program?

Otherwise... yeah. You might get lucky by applying around, but you may just have to start small. Besides, I don't trust a cook who has never been a dishwasher before. Particularly since as a chef if your dishwasher decides to flake out on you some night (and it WILL happen) you can bet that you, as a chef, will have to cover the position. It's not like your broiler guy gets paid enough to worry about that crap.

So I'd just apply for a dishwashing gig. Work up from there. It doesn't take long if you work hard and show up on time every day. If you feel you're too proud to take the lowliest position in a kitchen, then the restaurant business is probably not a good place for you.

4. chezsylvia

chezsylvia

Thanks for both replies. I live in Kelowna, BC Canada. I'm not too proud to wash dishes. I know the dishwasher is the most important person in the kitchen.

5. kraftchef

kraftchef

As a fellow LCB grad myself I can tell you do this: