Really Odd Passionfruit??

Joined Feb 26, 2007
Orange Passionfruit - my vine has gone nuts! Waiting for my normally normal passionfruit to turn nice and crinkly and dark...they've gone from unripe smooth and green to a soft feeling bright ORANGE!!! Anyone know whats happened? Never seen it before in my life

Joined Feb 1, 2007
Which of the passionfruits are you growing?

P. incarnata normally does turn orange. I fact, around here they call them wild apricots, because that's what the fruits resemble.

Joined Feb 26, 2007
I don't know which type it is, I'm no expert and we inherited it when we moved into the house. It does look just like an apricot (just shaped differently). Are they ripe to use once they are a ripe apricot colour and feel soft to the touch? Normally in previous year they didn't turn orange - the vine is now glowing with these beautiful looking fruit. In previous years we ate them once they turned dark and crinkly and they were delicious.

Joined Feb 1, 2007
I don't know when the fruit is ripe, as I've never used it. I use P. incarnata as a medicinal herb. And, of course, enjoy the gorgeous flowers.

Let me make some inquiries and see what I can find out.

Joined Dec 30, 1999
DC Sunshine,
Can you provide photos?

KYHeirloomer,
I think it depends on variety and preferred taste and texture depending on where you are in the world.

If you've never had passionfruit dessert or juice, I highly recommend you pick some up at your local grocery store. It's become much more common to find juice near the orange juice. Or check out health food stores or organic groceries. It is divine.

Joined Feb 1, 2007
There are at least five species of passionflower, Mudbug, of which Passiflora incarnata is the standard for medicinal purposes. It's also the most hardy, and will winter over in USDA Zone 6.