Chef Forum banner

quil eggs... ideas anyone?

2K views 10 replies 10 participants last post by  slavegirl 
#1 ·
i went to an asian martket the other day and i saw quil eggs at a cheap price so i bought them. i have never used them before. does anyone have any ideas?

thanks

#2 ·
Just in case, how about Quail eggs benedict and caviar; you can also poach them; chilled asparagus salad with soft quail eggs and lemon aioli; or Potato Latkes with Smoked Salmon, Quail Eggs and Sevruga Caviar. The latter can be found on williams-sonoma.com and type "quail eggs" in the recipe search box.

#3 ·
They make a great garnish for other dishes, either poached or fried sunny side up. I also have made deviled quail eggs as an hors or a garnish. Scooped out, they make great hors, as they are much smaller than regular eggs.

#4 ·
Quail eggs can be embedded in other foods as a garnish. For instance, crab cakes with a hard boiled quail egg embedded on top would be great.

Several fried sunny side up would look wonderful on top of risotto for a cute garnish and a dab of protein.

Hard boiled and sliced would be nice too - for salads, etc.

#6 ·
Here's a recipe that used quail eggs that I found in a French cooking magazine a few years back. It makes a nice starter.

Œufs de Caille Cocotte à la Forestière

200 grams brown mushrooms, cleaned and minced
1 shallot, minced
juice from 1/2 lemon
2 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon cream
salt and pepper to taste
9 large leaves of flat leaf parsley, chiffonade
6 quail eggs
4 slices baguette

1. Preheat broiler.

2. Combine mushrooms, shallot and lemon juice. Melt butter in a nonstick frying pan over high heat. Fry mushroom mixture until the expelled liquid has evaporated. Add cream and continue cooking for a minute. Remove from heat and add salt, pepper and parsley.