Questions about sharpening stones

Joined Aug 29, 2000
I've been searching for a reasonably-priced sharpening stone or stones (medium, or medium and fine- I guess) for all my knives, but especially for my new Global knife. My search engine turned up several sites for general knives (hunting, etc.), and mentioned Arkansas stones and India stones often, as well as others. They seemed quite reasonably priced (under $25), and I found a trihone, 8" stone for $25.99. The stones I see on culinary links and sites are quite a bit more expensive (Sur la Table: about $50). So what's the story? Do I have to buy form a culinary supply to sharpen my knives, or will any knife stone of good quality do??? I am a home cook, not a pro. Thanks for the help.

[This message has been edited by Mezzaluna (edited 02-02-2001).]

Joined Dec 30, 1999
Mezzaluna,

There is an excellent FAQ on Sharpening that includes this passage on what kind of stone.....

"What Kind of Stone?