Question

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by adambower998, Sep 1, 2016.

1. adambower998

adambower998

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    What's up guys,

I have a question and wanted to get some opinions from you.  

I work as a chef at a small restaurant.  There are 3 chefs total.  When I am on shift it's just me and the head chef, covering during lunch and evening service.

I am responsible for larder, evening starters, pizzas, and deserts on my section.  So basically I make soups, chowder, pizza dough and pizzas of all kinds, and deserts such as cakes, brulee, cheesecake, etc.  It is my responsibility to make sure my section is under control with regards to everything being fresh and made to the specs that the head chef requires, and of course controlling stock levels and making sure we're on point with that.  There are probably about 30-40 items to take care of total on my section.

My question is:  what kind of chef would you consider me to be?  That is, what is my job title?  I'm leaving soon and need to update my resume and get my job title right.  

Thanks for your input.

Adam 

2. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    chef de partie

3. Iceman

Iceman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    "Chef with a JOB"

4. phaedrus

phaedrus

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    What country do you live in? Chef de partie would be the high falootin name in the US.  Most would call the position 'line cook'.

5. cfood047

cfood047

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Don't down play the" line cook" you have a lot on your plate and expand your resume to show that you have versatility. 

6. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    LOL, I concur but seeing as how he is responsible for the larder, I assume that he isn't from "round heah". At least I didn't suggest entremetier or some other such term :~)

phaedrus likes this.
  7. adambower998

adambower998

Exp:
    Professional Chef