Question - What do you think makes a good 'relationship' with a knife?

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by zahor.j, Apr 13, 2018.

1. zahor.j

zahor.j

Exp:
    Non-professional
    Hi!

I am doing my thesis project in a design school at the moment and I FINALLY got to do a project with kitchen knives which I've been interested in for a while now, sooo I have a provocative question for everyone...

I think its interesting how some of us have very positive relationships with our knives - e.g. I love my Gyuto and rarely is anyone else allowed to use it - and yet many cooks have terrible habits of using and maintaining their knives - despite the fact that it is the most used tool in the kitchen and requiring most skills to master. So I am trying to find out more about what makes some of us have good relationships with this iconic tool to hopefully find ways of enabling others to improve theirs....

Currently I am working on a website for my project where I am collecting stories of kitchen knives with photos so you can see what knives people are using, and read about the relationship of the owner towards each knife, perhaps to find some inspiration or realize that you may be missing on something - you can find it here (tho it is not quite finished as of now).

I would be super interested to hear the story of your kitchen knife, if you want to share it?

or if you have any other thoughts on what makes your relationship with your kitchen knife(s) good, or what it took for you to make the relationship good - I´d love to hear!

Cheers!

2. zahor.j

zahor.j

Exp:
    Non-professional
    It is part of my research for an academic project to finish my masters

3. chefross

chefross

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Welcome to ChefTalk zahor.j