Question and possible need of suggestion.

Joined Aug 18, 2018
I'm looking for another knife, maybe with a thinner profile, without a bolster, good edge retention and stainless. I'm not sure if I'm a naive person, sadly looking for a unicorn knife, but that'd be cool if it were around 60 Rockwell without being too prone to chipping.

My max price around 150 dollars and I'm in Texas. This is for homecooking and I'm not a professional chef, but I'm looking to upgrade from the 40 dollar Mercers or 50 dollar Dalstrongs that I'm currently using.

One of the ones that has recently caught my eye is the Mercer MX3 set being that it's around 60-62 in terms of hardness which is much better than the 55 that I'm currently used to.

Problem is I can't seem to find much info but maybe there is someone here that knows why they would laminate high carbon steel around a stainless slab of metal (which you actually cut on)

Is that Rockwell rating, tested from the harder, outer edge or the softer inside? And why would it even be done this way? Sorry for the stupid questions. If someone has a better knife suggestion in that price range (or below) I'm all ears. I initially got interested in these from JPM.Cuisine's reviews on Youtube.

Joined Oct 9, 2008
I don't have the answer, but I do want to say that this is WAY not a stupid question. I'm flagging it, in fact, because you've given us an enormous amount of information that is relevant, in a small space. This is rare and deserves praise.

Kudos to you!

Joined Apr 25, 2014
M mike bajsel welcome. I guess my first advice is: Don't get hung up on hardness ratings. Anything in the 58+ range will be noticeably better than what you're used to. There's no standard for where hardness is measured that I know of. I would assume they try to give you the highest number at the edge. There could be variation even within a batch. Higher isn't all better either, at some point it is too chippy.