question about food temps

Joined Aug 27, 2018
hi all,
i'm not a professional, and i apologize if this is not the correct place for my question. but i've scoured the internet and can't find the answer to my question....so i'm hoping for your professional expertise. i know that chefs are the most experienced in food safety in the real world!
so, how long do you have for cold raw meat/milk to go from danger zone to below 40 in the fridge? for example, i brought home raw chicken tenderloins from the grocery, put into fridge. after 2 hours, they were at 42. after 3 hours they were at 40. so, technically they sat in the danger zone(above 40) for more than 2 hours. everything i read says that food cannot sit in that zone for 2 hours.

mind you, i have my fridge set to 34. my milk sits on the middle shelf, 3/4 of the way back. sometimes it's frozen on top, sometime it is 40 degrees.

i'm wondering if i need a new fridge. shouldn't a fridge set to 34 get raw chicken to below 40 within 2 hours? also, i don't want my meat at exactly 40 do i? isn't that a little close to the danger zone? i mean what if it hits 42 in the fridge?

i'm having trust issues with my fridge.
:)
thanks for any help....this is driving me crazy.
reece

Joined May 25, 2015
Your fridge should be able to maintain an even 34 deg temperature but keep in mind that with frequent opening of the door all bets are off. Most home refrigerators do not have the capacity to cool very quickly like commercial ones do that are designed to maintain their temperature even when the door is opened and closed all day.

From what you are saying though I think your fridge may have some problems.

The rule is: cool hot foods from 140°F to 70°F within two hours and to 41°F within four hours of reaching 70°F.

Joined Oct 9, 2008
Do you happen to know the temperature of the chicken when you got it home? Unless it sat in the hot car quite a while, it should have been pretty close to 40 to begin with, or lower.

Joined Aug 27, 2018