Q's for any restaurant owners out there!

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by chefclaycollins, Sep 28, 2002.

1. chefclaycollins

chefclaycollins

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I have been cooking for 10 years and am ready to open my own restaurant, but I have some things to figure out before I can do it.

First, where's the best place to find sympathetic lenders?

Second, does any one know the best way to survey people to see what they really want in a restaurant? I know what the people that eat in the restaurant I work at now want, but am interested to see if the rest of the town feels the same way.

Third, is it bad to buy a restaurant/bussiness and change everything about it?

Fourth, I was told that if the owners won't carry the loan, not to buy. Does this sound right?

The restaurant that I am trying to buy is a little pizza/pasta place that isn't very busy, mostly due to the fact that there has been 3 owners in 3 years and the last 2 owners hadn't even ever worked in a restaurant before! I want to turn it into a deli, take out, and catering bussiness, because this town is screaming for it!
    A kind of Dean and Deluca so to speak!

Any ideas? I'm just a cook how has big dreams and I'm trying everything I can to make this happen.

2. joshua tomczyk

joshua tomczyk

First off I do not own a restaurant. But I do know quite allot about the restaurant business.
    The only way to get money form people is to have a very precise business plan. Min 5 years estimated P&L, Demographic info. Target customer base etc. ( There are many books on business plans) You have to have something other than faith to get people to invest real money.