Pumpkin Carving

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by kyheirloomer, Oct 28, 2010.

1. kyheirloomer

kyheirloomer

Exp:
    Food Writer
    Just to rescue another hijacked thread, I thought I start one on pumpkin carving and decorating.

What are your feelings about the modern trend of turning jack-o-lantern carving (which, let's face it, was essentially a kid's craft) into a high art form?

Some of the ones I've seen are nothing short of fantastic. And I understand there's even a major competitive circuit.

I just wonder why these talented sculpters choose an ephemeral media?

2. chefbazookas

chefbazookas

Exp:
    Other
    I've tried the pumpkin sculpting a few times but I wasn't able to pull off anything I thought was worth photographing.  I find that cutting out and shaping the pumpkin flesh is a tactile delight.  It's delicate without being too soft. 

Admittedly, I'm not very good at it.  However, the process was delightful.

I couldn't bear to watch the Cinderella carriage I posted in the hijacked thread decay.  I gave it to the vendor who initially helped me pick it out at the market.

3. durangojo

durangojo

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    ky,

would love to send along the pumpkin head photos to this thread that i sent you...can i do that? not really sure how...splain,please!

joey

4. kyheirloomer

kyheirloomer

Exp:
    Food Writer
    Haven't a clue, Joey.

Phil, among other people, has posted the method in the past, and perhaps will do so again to help you out.

If not, can you just post a link to them?

5. the-boy-nurse

the-boy-nurse

Exp:
    Cook At Home