Pulled pork overnight?

Joined Apr 3, 2008
I'm serving pulled pork this weekend and want to cook it overnight. I've never done it overnight before, when should I put it in and take it out and at what temp? And then do I pull and sauce it right away and keep it warm or will I have to reheat it to be served around 5 pm?
Also, is one pork butt enough for 20 people?

Joined Nov 5, 2007
Are you talking oven roasted here? One caveat is that some of today's "smart" ovens figure that if the unit has been on for X number of hours somebody forgot to turn it off.  You could wake to a cold oven filled with uncooked product.

mjb.

Joined Oct 23, 2008
I would do it well ahead of time and then just foil wrap it in the fridge to be reheated. Usually you want to target between 1/4th and 1/2 a lb of cooked meat per person (depending on kids/adults/etc. and whether your serving it as sandwiches). You will lose somewhere around 40% of the pre-cooked weight. If I were feeding 20 people I'd probably go with two 9lb butts because I like to have more than is needed. At around 220F you should be fine letting the butt cook for anywhere between 8 and 10 hrs. Then you could keep it warm (covered in foil until serving but it sounds like you are going to have a good long gap in time). I'd reserve the rendered fat to mix back into the meat as needed for moisture.

Out of curiosity why do you want to do it the night before? You have other items to cook in the oven the day of?

Last edited:
Joined Nov 5, 2007
Also what else will be offered?  You probably want 5 - 6 oz. of pork per sandwich, so you want roughly 7 pounds of finished product. Assuming no one will want two sandwiches, of course.  That could be at least 10 - 12 pounds raw product. Actually it has been a while since I've done this cipherin' fer real, current pros who do this regularly jump in and scold me as needed.