problem with cleaning copper pot

Joined Jun 5, 2021
Hi, I am not a professional but did some research and recently bought a Mauviel copper saucepan. However, I can't seem to clean it. I have used lemon, ketchup, salt, baking soda, wright's powder, barkeep's friend and none of them seem to have gotten rid of the greasy streaks that seem to be on the outside of the pot. I read that I should not scrub too hard as it would scratch the pan but I feel without huge scrubbing I won't get rid of these marks. Thanks for any thoughts, Yasmine

Joined Dec 18, 2010
That must be a tough stain to resist all of those time-proven copper cleaning options. A picture might help to describe what you are dealing with. Also, Mauviel has a cleaning product under their name... maybe try that????

Joined Jun 5, 2021
thanks for your reply. I will post a picture once I get it taken :). I am not sure the mauviel cleaning product is any different that wright's cream, both seem to be mentioned in the same breath, so to speak. Besides, I am in Canada and mauviel's copperbrill is very expensive here. I would try it as a last resort, still have to use ketchup again and wright's powder. I just don't have much faith it will come out unless I really scrub and I believe that scratches the pot. Anyway, I will post a picture, thanks, Yasmine

Joined Mar 1, 2017
I have 2 sets of Mauviel copper and use Barkeep's Friend exclusively. No scratches etc. Just use a soft sponge or cloth. Do not use a sponge that has a scrubber side. When used properly, the powder itself is not abrasive enough to scratch the copper. By "used properly", always mix the powder with a bit of water.

But, remember.....BF is essentially an acidic compound. So, if you have "hard water", which is typically on the base side of the pH scale (above 7), tap water will diminish the effectiveness of BF. So, if this is the case, gently heat some tap water on your stove and add some vinegar or lemon juice to it to lower the pH of the water.