Private Cooking Lessons -- What to charge?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by maureen830, Dec 5, 2001.

1. maureen830

maureen830

Hi Everyone,

I am a former NYC chef-instructor. I taught at Peter Kump's and Kings Cooking Studio for about 4 years.

I have since moved from that area to the Catskills and I need help with pricing.

I want to offer Home Cooking Parties to clients -- where I help the client develop a menu and I shop for it . I'd divide the guests into groups - depending on how many there are and put them to work. Hands-on or Demo would be up to the client -- cheaper for a demo. I guess you would charge per person, plus the cost of the food and labor involved. I just don't how much.

In NYC, private chefs I think get around $25/hour and up --
    I don't think I'd get anywhere near that up here in New York State. Well, actually, I'm in Woodstock which has some pretty high-profile residents anyway.

I'm not looking to rip anyone off -- I want to charge a fair price that is also worth my while.

Does anyone have any ideas on how I can determine what to charge for something like this?

Also, if a client wanted a private cooking lesson in their home, what rate do you think would be in the ball park?

I would really appreciate any help. Thank you sooo much!

Maureen

:chef:

2. chiffonade

chiffonade

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I went to Kump! It's so nice to see someone else talk about the school here.

For your classes, where you will teach them is nearly as important as what you will teach. If you teach in NYC, the sky's pretty much the limit given your credentials. However, you're teaching in Upstate NY and unless your clientele are very affluent (which is possible), you'd have to scale down the price.

* Is it a very small town you live in? Beware of this. Small town people are less likely to want to try something new. Believe me - I live in one now and it's Hooterville to the "nth" degree.