Pricing Help, please

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by w.debord, Mar 1, 2002.

1. w.debord

w.debord

As I'm out trying to sell wedding cakes it seems desserts in general are wanted. I really need some help with pricing. How it's phrased to me is "the chef and I were just talking, we'd like to get away from the frozen junk we get in and have something better...we'd like to have a couple signature items....let's get together and talk....".

I understand how to cost out my product based on ingred., overhead, time, etc... but since I'm a newbie with NO regular business (yet) I want to come in with realistic yet attractive pricing (even though at this moment my expenses are high since I don't have any volume). But I don't know how to double check my prices with similar companies providing similar 'fresh' baked items, any ideas?

I can look online at a few wholesale sources (although many sites block your view unless your a registered buyer) for frozen cakes...but that's what they don't want (precieving a fresh product from me would be a higher quality, therefore more $, yes?) and I can call locally at bakeries but then their shooting me retail pricing.

So do any of you have some advice or leads on how I could double check my prices? TIA

2. chiffonade

chiffonade

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    is 3x ingredients for catering and 4x ingredients for sit-down restaurants. This means some calculating but it's worth it to see what your true costs are.

Arrive at a per person price and stick to it.

3. kuan

kuan Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Why don't you call some bakeries and ask them? Something like "hi, I have a list of your product and I'm wondering if you could give me a wholesale price list?" That's how I figured out how much I should charge for guitar lessons.

Kuan

4. ritafajita

ritafajita