Preserved lemons

Discussion in 'Recipes' started by alexia, Jun 7, 2002.

1. alexia

alexia

I found a source for organic lemons, so I've just made a batch of preserved lemons for the first time, now salting away in the fridge. Exploring Google, I've come up with a number of recipes, but as this is an ingredient I've never used before, I would be grateful if anyone here that uses them would share a recipe they know will be good.

2. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Alexia,

There has been a number of great posts on Preserved lemons on Cheftalk

Here's one

http://www.cheftalkcafe.com/forums/s...eserved+lemons

I love Tagine with preserved lemons...

I don't have time thin moment to write it, but if you would like I will try to write it later

3. alexia

alexia

Thanks Cape Chef, there were a few dishes on those threads made with the lemons and a lot of recipes to make the lemons. I have lots of time til I can use the lemons, so whenever you get a chance to post that recipe it will be appreciated. It's always a comfort to explore a new ingredient with a trustworthy recipe first.

I looked at a lot of recipes for the preserved lemon before making it. I decided to go with a very basic one that is tempered by some sugar. It was posted by Peter Hertzman on another site; he attributed it to Frédéric Médigue, chef at Le Château d’Amondans, France. It is just 2 pts salt : 1 pt sugar, (120 grams of the mixture layered with 6 quartered lemons). No spices, etc., added.

4. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    That's pretty much how I made mine, and I think the results are excellent. Much more "gentle." So far I've used them in marinades for vegetables, instead of "raw" zest in osso buco, and as an addition to grain dishes.

5. cape chef

cape chef

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Tagine of lamb with lemons and olives.

3 # Lamb shoulder, cut into 1 1/2 inch dice
    Pinch of saffron
    1/4 teaspoons turmirc
    1 teaspoon hot papkrica